Become a MemberContact Us

Each year, Horace Mann PTSA may honor individuals or groups for their service on behalf of children by presenting them with an award. This year we would like to recognize the following recipients:  


The Mannie Award is unique to the Horace Mann community and was introduced in 2005. It is presented to an individual within our community-at-large who goes above and beyond for the benefit of our school. The recipient of the Mannie can be anyone who is dedicated to Horace Mann Elementary: lunch buddies, reading volunteers, dedicated moms/dads, or school staff members who quietly give of their time and themselves.  

2020 Mannie Award: Learning Center Support Team

2021 Mannie Award: Colleen Chalmers & Brian Pattillo


Golden Acorn Award is presented to a volunteer in recognition of his/her dedication and outstanding volunteer service to all children of Horace Mann Elementary. The recipient of the Golden Acorn is someone who demonstrates a strong commitment to help Horace Mann’s students achieve their full potential. 

2020 Golden Acorn Award: Misty Cavit, Yuka Jackson

2021 Golden Acorn Award: Bryna Riley, Kat Spottswood


Outstanding Educator Award is presented to an educator who has made outstanding educational contributions to Horace Mann Elementary. The recipient of the Outstanding Educator Award is someone who teaches and enables students to be the best they can be and helps students develop the tools they need to be successful now and in the future. An educator may be defined as a teacher, assistant, specialist, support staff, custodian, bus driver, or administrator.

2020 Outstanding Educator Award: Kristi Bergquist, Tina Havir

2021 Outstanding Educator Award: Lisa Lange, Matt Laughlin